Village Board

The Village of Mukwonago is governed by a Village Board. The Board makes decisions regarding most Village matters, including the Village budget, capital improvements, ordinances and hiring of most department heads.

The Board consists of a Village President and six trustees, and is non-partisan.  Trustees are elected at-large, rather than by district.  Elections are held every year on the first Tuesday in April.  Each board member is elected to overlapping two-year terms, with the Village President and three trustees elected one year, and the other three trustees elected the following year.

The Village Board meets the third Tuesday of each month at 6:30 pm.  They meet in the Board Room located on the second floor of the Village Hall located at 440 River Crest Court, off of CTH ES about one mile west of the intersection of CTH ES and STH 83.

Becoming a Village Board Member

In 2018, three (3) Village Trustee seats are up for election. The general election will be April 3, 2018.  Pursuant to Charter Ordinance #938, the Trustee receiving the highest number of votes shall be elected for a term of three years and the other two Trustees shall be elected for a term of two years.  Charter Ordinance #938 will become effective on December 25, 2017.

If you are interested in being on the Village Board, the first date to circulate papers is December 1 of each year. The last date to file the nomination papers with the Clerk’s Office is 5:00 p.m. on January 2, 2018. You must file the nomination papers in person; they cannot be mailed. Nomination papers are available in the Clerk’s Office and below. ALL OF THE FOLLOWING FORMS must be downloaded.

Local Elections Candidates Packet
Notice of Spring General Election Notice
Form 1 – Letter to Candidates Letter
Form 2 – Receipt of Election Forms Form
Form 3 – Nomination Papers [Fillable] EL-169 Form
Form 4 – Declaration of Candidacy [Fillable] EL-162 Form
Memo Regarding Constitutional Ban on Felons Holding Office Form
Form 5 is for Incumbents Only
Form 6 – Campaign Registration Statement [Fillable] ETHCF-1 Form
Form 7 – Campaign Financing Information Form
Form 8 – Placement of Signs Form
Form 9 – Disclaimers Form
Form 10 – Formats for Disclaimers Form
Form 11 – Ballot Access Checklist ELIS-7 Form

Village Board Subcommittees

Committees meet in the Board Room located at the Village Hall, 440 River Crest Ct. unless otherwise specified.  The Village Board meets as a Committee of the Whole on the first Tuesday of each month at 5:30 p.m.  All Board members are members of the Committees.  The chairs of each Committee are listed below.

Finance Committee – Jay Vermeulen
Health and Recreation Committee – James Decker
Judicial Committee – Karl Kettner
Personnel Committee – Kelly Klemme
Protective Services Committee – Police Department – Darlene Johnson
Public Works Committee – Mark Penzkover

Protective Services Committee – Fire Department – Darlene Johnson, Chair; Karl Kettner; Kelly Klemme
The Protective Services Committee meets on the Monday before the third Wednesday of each month at 6:30 p.m. Meeting locations alternate between the Village Hall and the Mukwonago Town Hall

Fred Winchowky, President Email
(262) 363-7884
Term Expires: 2019

Karl Kettner – Email
(414) 239-6323
Term Expires: 2019

Mark PenzkoverEmail
(262) 363-0665
Term Expires: 2019

James DeckerEmail
(262) 363-2245
Term Expires: 2019

Darlene JohnsonEmail
(414) 916-3876
Term Expires: 2018

Jay Vermeulen – Email
(414) 807-5006
Term Expires: 2018

Kelly Klemme – Email
(414) 326-0284
Term Expires: 2018